Sooners now have three Maxwell Award contenders

QB Baker Mayfield is passing through mid-season strong. The starting quarterback has been made the list for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the best football player in the NCAA. He is one of seven who have been added to this list as of this week.

Mayfield has a 66.2 pass complete percentage for 1,593 yards. The young quarterback has accounted for 14 touchdowns, 4 scores and 133 rushing yards this season.

RB Samaje Perine and WR Sterling Shepard were placed on the preseason list in July.

Semifinalists are to be announced in November.

The Sooners have had two Maxwell winners, Tommy McDonald (1956) and Jason White (2004).

The only two players to win the award twice are Tim Tebow and John Lattner.

The Sooners host the Iowa State Cyclones on Saturday. Kickoff is set for 6:00 p.m.

Add a comment ...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s